In the heart of the Mekong Delta, Ho Chi Minh city (formerly known as Saigon) is the second most important city, following Hanoi. It is not only a commercial centre but also a scientific, technological, industrial and tourist centre. The city is blessed with many rivers, arroyos and canals, the largest river being the Saigon river. 

Saigon has been a commercial centre for many centuries. Merchants from China, Japan and European countries would sail upstream of the Saigon river to reach the islet of Pho, a trading centre. In the year of 1874, Cho Lon merged with Saigon, forming the largest city in the Indochina. It was celebrated as the Pearl of the Far East. After the reunification of the country, Saigon was officially renamed Ho Chi Minh city. 

Today, Ho Chi Minh city attracts a large of visitors to Vietnam. It has various sites including the Ho Chi Minh museum, formerly known as Dragon House wharf and Cu Chi tunnels. Despite its turbulent past, Ho Chi Minh city possesses various beautiful buildings representing Vietnamese, Chinese and European cultures. These include Nha Rong (Dragon House wharf), Quoc To temple (National Ancestors temple), dinh Xa Tay (Municipal Office), Municipal Theatre as well as many pagodas and churches (Vinh Nghiem, Giac Lam, Jade Emperor pagodas...).


- Area: 2,095 sq km

- Population: 9 mil

- Aver. annual temp. | humid.: 28C or 82F | 78%


Places of interest:

- Cu Chi tunnels (70km)

- Cao Dai temple, Tay Ninh (100km)

- Ben Thanh market

- War remnant museum

- Reunification palace (Presidential palace)

- Cho Lon town (China town)

- Thien Hau temple

- Notre Dame cathedral / Post office

- Giac Lam pagoda

- History museum

- FITO museum (Vietnamese herbal medicine)